The Global Fields are drop-down menus which are to be used across the system. The standard set of Global Fields are Country, Location, Department, Process, Product, Document Status, Supplier and Customer. Beyond these fields super user is able to create new fields, which will then be available inn all modules which are using Global Fields.
As of 23.10.2020 these modules are:
- Risk Management
We are working on getting all of the modules to function with these fields.
Super user can find the Global Fields under Menu -> Super -> Global Fields.
From here they are able to:
- Add new drop-down menus
- Edit drop-down menus
- Delete drop-down menus
- Add values to a drop-down menu
- Delete values from a drop-down menu
- Edit values in a drop-down menu
- Deactivate values in a drop-down menu
- Merge values within a drop-down menu
Adding a new drop-down menu
To add a new drop-down menu to the list of Global Fields use the Add new dropdown section at the bottom of the page.
If you choose to use a translation for the field name itself, click the Translation toggle and type in the name in each language. Click Create, and the new drop-down menu will appear in its proper position in the alphabetised list of drop-down menus above.
Edit/Delete a drop-down menu
Next to each drop-down menu you will see two buttons appearing to the right, as you mouse over the drop-down menu.
If a drop-down menu is not in use in any module, and is not part of the standard set of drop-down menus, you are free to delete it by pressing the red bin button. You can also edit a drop-down menu by pressing the blue pencil button.
Add values to a drop-down menu
Click into a drop-down menu and click the Add new button. Select whether you want to use translation for this value, enter the value and click save.
The new value will be added at the bottom of the list.
Edit values in a drop-down menu
To edit a value within a drop-down menu click the little edit icon next to the value you wish to edit (see the small red circle at the bottom of the picture).
You can then edit the name of this value (in both languages if you selected translation in the outset), and turn on or off translations. You are warned that any changes made will affect all modules in which this value is in use.
Delete/deactivate values in a drop-down menu
You can delete by clicking the red bin next to the value. You will be warned that this will affect all modules in which the value is in use, and requested to confirm.
If you would rather deactivate a value you click the deactivate icon next to the value. This will result in the value remaining throughout the system, but it will say (deactivated) behind the name of the value everywhere it is in use. You are also not able to select a deactivated value for future use, so if you edit an item with a deactivated value you will be forced to select an active value to replace it.
Merge values within a drop-down menu
If you are reorganising you business, or for whatever reason need to merge several fields you can do that by pressing the merge icon. You use this icon to select two or more values, and then a Merge button will appear in the top right hand side of the drop-down menu you are working with.
When you click the Merge button you are given a choice for selection of new name for this merged value
You are warned here that merging will overwrite the current values everywhere they are in use.
On the left hand side you can choose to deselect some values if you clicked too many, or clicked one by mistake.
On the right hand side you choose the new name for the merged field. You have the option here to select the name of one of the selected fields, or to give it brand new name. A new name can be given with or without translation.
Click ok to finalise the merge. The new value will instantly be propagated out to all modules where they are in use.